Izmir - Turkish Republic

İzmir, historically also Smyrna, is Turkey's third most populous city and the country's second largest port city after Istanbul. It is located along the outlying waters of the Gulf of İzmir, by the Aegean Sea. It is the seat of İzmir Province, which has an area of 7350 km2. The city of İzmir is composed of twelve metropolitan districts (Balçova, Bayraklı, Bornova, Buca, Çiğli, Gaziemir, Güzelbahçe, Karabağlar, Karşıyaka, Konak, Menemen, Narlıdere, and Torbalı), each with its own distinct features and temperament, but all headed by the Mayor of İzmir. The total population of the province was 3,795,978 by the end of 2008.[1] The central area of the city consisting of metropolitan districts has a total area of 855 km2 (330 sq mi), and a population of 2,606,294



  1. Anonymous says:


Leave a Reply